Books by James Martin, SJ

James Martin, SJ

A website from HarperCollins Publishers

Share this page:

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Purchase Now:
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
Jesus: A Pilgrimage

Jesus
A Pilgrimage

A gifted storyteller and spiritual director, Father James Martin, SJ invites readers to experience the stories of the Gospels in a completely new, vivid, and exciting way to gain a deeper understanding of Jesus. Moving sequentially through the Gospels, considering not only familiar passages but also the "hidden life" of Jesus, the book offers a bold retelling of the life of Christ, faithful to the Christian tradition, while mediating on parts of the narrative that have often escaped notice. 

Martin provides personal stories from his own life, the most up-to-date biblical scholarship, and powerful anecdotes from beloved spiritual teachers, and brings the ready along his own real-life travels through the Holy Land. 

Combining the fascinating insights of historical Jesus studies with profound spiritual insights about the Christ of faith, Martin re-creates the world of first-century Galilee and Judea to usher us into Jesus’s life and times and reveal how Jesus speaks to us today. Jesus: A Pilgrimage is an invitation to know Jesus as Father Martin knows him: Messiah and Savior, as well as friend
and brother.

CLICK HERE TO VIEW THE INDEX

alt tag goes here
A Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything
A Spirituality for Real Life

The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything by Father James Martin, SJ (author of My Life with the Saints) is a practical spiritual guidebook based on the life and teachings of St. Ignatius of Loyola, the founder of the Society of Jesus. Centered around the Ignatian goal of “finding God in all things,” The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything shows us how to manage relationships, money, work, prayer, and decision-making, all while keeping a sense of humor.  Filled with user-friendly examples, humorous stories, and anecdotes from the heroic and inspiring lives of Jesuit saints and average priests and brothers, The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything is sure to appeal to fans of Kathleen Norris, Richard Rohr, Anne Lamott, and other Christian spiritual writers.

alt tag goes here
Purchase Now:
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
A Big Heart Open to God

A Big Heart Open to God
A Conversation with Pope Francis

The world was shocked when Jesuit magazines across the globe simultaneously released an exclusive interview with Pope Francis, just six months into his historic papacy. Within minutes of its release, the interview dominated the worldwide media. In a wide-ranging conversation, Pope Francis spoke movingly with Fr. Antonio Spadaro, SJ about his spiritual life, his hopes for church reform, his open-minded stance toward gays and lesbians, his views on women, and even his favorite movies. In this new book published by American Press, which includes the entire papal interview, Father James Martin, SJ offers an extended reflection on how to use the pope's moving words as a springboard to personal prayer. 

Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
alt tag goes here
Together on Retreat

Together on Retreat
Meeting Jesus in Prayer

How can we find God? How can we pray? What can we learn about Jesus from the New Testament stories about his ministry around the Sea of Galilee? In this innovative e-book, Rev. James Martin, SJ invites us on an actual retreat to answer those questions and to encounter God's presence in prayer and meditation.

Martin, an experienced spiritual guide, teaches you how to pray with Scriptures and answers your questions about prayer in ways that are accessible to both doubtful seekers and devout believers. This fresh, insightful, and personal retreat experience is a must for anyone looking to explore this ancient practice in a contemporary way.

Includes reflection questions for personal study or reading groups, as part of the full retreat experience.

Purchase Now:
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
alt tag goes here

Between Heaven and Mirth
Why Joy, Humor, and Laughter Are at the Heart of the Spiritual Life

Between Heaven and Mirth will make any reader smile… Father Martin reminds us that happiness is the good God’s own goal for us.” —Timothy M. Dolan, Archbishop of New York

From The Colbert Report’s “official chaplain” James Martin, SJ, author of the New York Times bestselling The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything, comes a revolutionary look at how joy, humor, and laughter can change our lives and save our spirits. A Jesuit priest with a busy media ministry, Martin understands the intersections between spirituality and daily life.  In Between Heaven and Mirth, he uses scriptural passages, the lives of the saints, the spiritual teachings of other traditions, and his own personal reflections to show us why joy is the inevitable result of faith, because a healthy spirituality and a healthy sense of humor go hand-in-hand with God’s great plan for humankind.

Purchase Now:
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
alt tag goes here
Between Heaven and Mirth
alt tag goes here

The Abbey

A divorced single mom, Anne can sometimes barely cope with life and struggles to make sense of the death of her young son. 

A former architect who had a promising career, Mark works as a handyman and wonders how his life got off track. 

The abbot of the Abbey of Saints Philip and James, Father Paul sometimes questions how to best live a life that secludes him so thoroughly from the world. 

At a Pennsylvania abbey, this unlikely trio will discover the answers they seek—a miracle of hope and understanding that bears witness to the surprising power of God to bring healing and wholeness to our lives. 

In his debut novel, James Martin, SJ, provides a window into the spiritual journeys of three people seeking direction. As he did in his previous bestsellers—Jesus: A Pilgrimage, Between Heaven and Mirth, and The Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything—Martin once again crafts a book that incarnates deep spiritual wisdom while being accessible and full of humor and grace. Through the characters' struggles, we see firsthand how God uses our worries, questions, and even anger to help us become whole.

Purchase Now:
alt tag goes here
Buy from Amazon
alt tag goes here
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
Purchase Now:
alt tag goes here

Seven Last Words

New York Times bestselling author James Martin, SJ, offers a vivid and compelling portrait of Jesus based on the Messiah's dramatic last words on the cross. Father Martin shows how deeply Jesus understands our struggles and why we can turn to him completely—in mind, heart, and soul. Based on Martin's homilies at New York's St. Patrick's Cathedral on Good Friday 2015, each meditation reflects on one of the seven traditional sayings: 

"Father, forgive them; for they do not know what they are doing."
"T
ruly I tell you, today you will be with me in Paradise."                                "My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"                      
"
Woman, here is your son. . . . Here is your mother."                            
"Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.
"                                               
"I am thirsty."                                                                                                            
"It is finished."
                                                                                    

With warmth, wisdom, and grace that infuse all of his writings, Father Martin explains why Jesus's words from the cross are so important for the life of the believer. For Jesus's final statements show how deeply Jesus understands our human struggles and why we can turn to him completely, sharing all our hopes and fears with him. 

alt tag goes here
A Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything
Purchase Now:
alt tag goes here
Buy from Amazon
alt tag goes here
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound
alt tag goes here
Buy from Amazon
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound

Available in Paperback:

Buy from Indie Bound
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Amazon
alt tag goes here

Available in Paperback:

alt tag goes here
Jesus: A Pilgrimage
alt tag goes here
The Abbey paperback
A Jesuit Guide to (Almost) Everything
alt tag goes here
James Martin

Building a Bridge
PRE-ORDER TODAY!

Jesuit priest and New York Times bestselling author James Martin issues an impassioned plea for Catholic leaders to relate to their LGBT flock in a new way, one characterized by compassion and openness. In this inspiring book, Father Martin turns to three virtues from the Catechism of the Catholic Church—"respect, compassion, and sensitivity"—as a model for how both the Catholic leadership and LGBT Catholics can move together on a "two-way bridge" toward reconciliation and love. 

This groundbreaking new book also includes spiritual and biblical resources for LGBT people and their families, friends, and allies. Father Martin offers biblical passages, accompanied by meditations and questions for reflection, to help LGBT people find their place in the church and enter into a deeper relationship with God. Building a Bridge is a compassionate book desperately needed in today's climate of divisiveness. 

"A welcome and much-needed book that will help bishops, priests, pastoral associates, and all church leaders more compassionately minister to the LGBT community. It will also help LGBT Catholics feel more at home in what is, after all, their church."

—Cardinal Kevin Farrell, Prefect of the Vatican's Dicastery for the Laity, Family, and Life 


Purchase Now:
alt tag goes here
Buy from Amazon
alt tag goes here
Buy from Barnes & Noble
Buy from Books-A-Million
Buy from Indie Bound

© 2017 HarperCollins Publishers. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use